Museums not only showcase history but can sometimes become a part of it, as well. In October 1997, 23 years ago this month, the Castle Rock Museum opened its doors to the public.
The building that houses the museum was once Castle Rock’s depot along the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad, linking Denver and Colorado Springs. Built in 1875, the depot was made from locally hewn rhyolite stone and was adorned with a gabled roof and double-hung windows. In 1970, the entire structure was lifted off its foundation — near the present-day Castle Rock Fire & Rescue headquarters — placed on a large flatbed truck, and driven to its current location at 420 Elbert St. Downtown.
The Castle Rock Historical Society was formed in 1991 and was able to purchase the old train depot in 1996. The organization then renovated the building with donations from local businesses and a State grant.
Inside the museum, you will find several artifacts of local interest, including the original ticket window and baggage area of the old depot, as well as permanent collections and temporary displays.
Ready to visit the museum and brush up on more Town history? Check out https://www.castlerockmuseum.org/ for hours, exhibits and events. Also, visit CRgov.com/TownHistory to see all of our #OurTownOverTime posts.